128 Samora Machel Avenue

Harare, Zimbabwe


Send us an email


+263-242-253361/2/3 +263 8677000313

The ZAMCOM Agreement

The evolution of international cooperation in the Zambezi River Basin has developed over more than three decades concluding with the signing of the ZAMCOM Agreement on 13 July 13 2004 in Kasane, Botswana, by Ministers responsible for water from seven of the eight riparian states – Angola, Botswana, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, the United Republic of Tanzania, and Zimbabwe. The Agreement came into force on 19 June 2011 after six of the eight riparian countries completed their ratification processes and deposited their ratification instruments with the SADC Secretariat.  Zambia subsequently acceded to the agreement in 2013, and Malawi continues to finalise accession processes.

Publication Download: