128 Samora Machel Avenue

Harare, Zimbabwe


Send us an email


+263-242-253361/2/3 +263 8677000313

Tanzania Takes Over as ZAMCOM Chair

The Zambezi Watercourse Commission (ZAMCOM), has a new Chair. Tanzania took over the Chairpersonship from Namibia at the just ended meeting of Zambezi River Basin Council of Ministers, in the resort town of Swakopmund, Namibia. Zambia took over as Vice-Chair.

The election of ZAMCOM Chair and Vice-Chair is on the basis of rotation (alphabetically) and the elected country remains in the position for a year until the annual ordinary session of the Council of Ministers meeting the following year. The elected country also takes charge of all other ZAMCOM organs including the ZAMCOM Technical Committee (ZAMTEC).

The Ministers, meeting for the 5th time as ZAMCOM Council, met to take care of ZAMCOM business. Their meeting was preceded by that of Zambezi technical officials who met from 20 to 21 February to prepare for the Ministers’ meeting.

The ZAMCOM Technical Committee (ZAMTEC) meets annually before the Ministers’ annual meeting to review progress made by the organisation and to make recommendations for endorsement and approval by the Council of Ministers.

Among some of the main issues the meetings deliberated on was progress on major projects being implemented through the ZAMCOM Secretariat (ZAMSEC). These include development of the Strategic Plan for the Zambezi Watercourse (ZSP). The Strategic Plan, when completed, will lay a firm foundation for more systematic, cooperative and tangible investments aimed at addressing the emerging socio-economic and climate-related challenges in the basin and the region in an efficient and sustainable manner.

The Ministers also noted progress made in the implementation of some procedures they approved during their earlier meeting. Progress was reported on implementation of the procedures for the notification of planned measures; and procedures for sharing data and information related to the management and development of the Zambezi Watercourse.

The Ministers provided necessary guidance on the promotion, support, and coordination of the efficient management and sustainable development of the water resources of the Zambezi Watercourse.









ZAMCOM is a river basin organization set up through the ZAMCOM Agreement by the eight riparian states that share the Zambezi River Basin.  ZAMCOM promotes and coordinates the cooperative management and development of the Zambezi Watercourse in a sustainable, climate resilient manner. The eight riparian states are Angola, Botswana, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

The ZAMCOM agreement was signed in 2004 at Kasane in Botswana and came into force in 2011. Zimbabwe hosts the ZAMCOM Secretariat.

For More Information, Contact:

The ZAMCOM Secretariat, 128 Samora Machel Avenue, P.O. Box CY 118, Harare, Zimbabwe. Tel: +263 - 24 - 253361/2/3; Voip: +263 8677000313. Email: or; website: